The 5 Stages of Dementia Explained

July 1, 2020 by Paradise Living Center
The 5 Stages of Dementia Explained

The 5 Stages of Dementia Explained



What is Dementia?

Dementia is a complex condition that interferes with a loved one’s memory, communication, language, judgment, and overall brain function. Dissimilar from memory slips that can occur with old age, dementia is a progressive malady that can be caused by Alzheimer’s disease, and it impairs parts of the brain that are vital in processing speech and spatial awareness. It is very common for people to confuse dementia with old age. After all, it’s normal for people to forget things as they get older; however, dementia and age-related memory loss are two entirely different things.

While it may be frustrating to watch your loved one struggle with dementia, this should be the time to consider professional care from highly trained specialists. At Paradise Living Centers, residents with dementia receive around-the-clock care from our certified caregivers and licensed nurse. It’s our mission to ensure residents are given the quality care they deserve, and their families are given the peace of mind they desire.

At Paradise Living Centers, we want to take a moment to educate family members about the five stages of dementia. As we mentioned previously, dementia is a progressive condition caused by Alzheimer’s disease.

If you believe your loved one is suffering from dementia, consider these five stages of the condition:

5 Stages of Dementia

Stage 1: CDR-0, No Impairment

Patients with a CDR score of 0 generally show no signs of impairment or memory loss that interfere with their normal abilities. This means your loved one has no significant memory problems, and they are able to take care of their personal needs without the help of others.

Stage 2: CDR-0.5, Questionable Impairment

This score demonstrates very slight impairments in cognitive function. Stage 2 usually resembles minor memory loss, but virtually no issues with personal care. If your loved one is suffering from stage 2 dementia, they may have a difficult time-solving problems or timing things.

Stage 3: CDR-1, Mild Impairment

Stage 3 dementia can disrupt your loved one’s ability to perform normal activities outside the home. If they have trouble with directions or begin neglecting personal chores, you may want to have them see a specialist for care.

Stage 4: CDR-2, Moderate Impairment

Patients with stage 4 dementia have difficulty keeping up with personal hygiene, daily chores, social activities, and more. At this point, your loved one’s short-term memory is seriously impaired, which means they may have trouble remembering new people.

Stage 5: CDR-3, Severe Impairment

A CDR-3 score indicates severe impairment, which means your loved one cannot function without the help of a caregiver. The understanding of time, direction, and taking care of one’s personal needs are completely gone at this point in time.

Dementia may be a difficult disease to deal with, but it doesn’t have to be for you and your family. Call Paradise Living Centers in Paradise Valley and Phoenix to speak to our Care Manager about our memory care program and other care services. We are here to help. Call 480.878.4112 today!

© 2023 Paradise Living Centers. Website Design by My Biz Niche